The Conversation Retired

The Conversation

A talk show featuring discussions with special guests, the latest tech and development news, and your calls.

Hosted by Dan Benjamin.



#10: Punch the Monkey

April 12, 2010 at 4:01PM • 48 minutes

Dan is joined by "John Gruber of Daring Fireball":http://daringfireball.net and Craig Hockenberry, creator of "Twitterrific":http://iconfactory.com/software/twitterrific at "Icon Factory":http://iconfactory.com. We talk about the Tweetie acquisition by Twitter, the iPhone OS 4, iAds, Game Center, and more.

Jim Coudal of "Coudal Partners":http://coudal.com drops in by phone to talk about the new and emerging advertising marketplace and ecosystem Apple is creating.


#9: iPad a Dream Last Night

April 1, 2010 at 5:00PM • 1 hour 26 minutes

Dan Benjamin talks about the impending iPad release, iPad development, Flash and web development, and more with guests "Dan Moren":http://macworld.com, "Craig Hockenberry":http://iconfactory.com, "Daniel Jalkut":http://www.red-sweater.com/, "Christina Warren":http://mashable.com, and call-in listeners about the iPad.

Special guests Christina Warren & Dan Moren.


#8: Virtual Sanity

March 28, 2010 at 10:30AM • 1 hour 9 minutes

Dan talks with Garrett Dimon, the creator of "Sifter":http://sifterapp.com, and Jane Quigley, marketing expert at "Powered":http://powered.com, about starting, growing, and managing a business. We discuss about the challenges of working virtually, providing support, hiring, sustainability, attracting -- and keeping -- new users, and how blogging and tweeting can help with a launch.

Special guests Garrett Dimon & Jane Quigley.


#7: Patent Schmatent

March 18, 2010 at 2:06PM • 48 minutes

Dan Benjamin brings together geeks and attorneys to talk about the intersection of patents and software development, and speculate about Apple's motivations and goals regarding their recent Android-inspired lawsuit against HTC.

Dan is joined by Wil Shipley of "Delicious Monster":http://delicious-monster.com, Dave Nanian of "Shirt Pocket":http://shirt-pocket.com, and Michael Montgomery of "Christopher & Weisberg":http://cwiplaw.com/.


#6: Ad Block This! (Part 2 of 2)

March 12, 2010 at 1:30PM • 46 minutes

Dan talks with "Merlin Mann":http://kungfugrippe.com, "Jane Quigley":http://www.powered.com, and "Mike Davidson":http://mikeindustries.com about monetizing the web, generalized blogs vs. niche blogs, filters, and actually caring about your audience.

This is Part 2 of a two-part episode.

Special guests Merlin Mann & Jane Quigley.


#5: Ad Block This! (Part 1 of 2)

March 11, 2010 at 6:00AM • 47 minutes

Dan talks with Ken Fisher, founder of "Ars Technica":http://arstechnica.com, Jane Quigley of "Powered":http://www.powered.com/, Matt Haughey of "MetaFilter":http://metafilter.com, and "Merlin Mann":http://kungfugrippe.com about ads, ad-blockers, running websites, and preserving your integrity.

This is Part 1 of a two-part episode.

Special guests Merlin Mann & Jane Quigley.


#4: It's a Great Brick

February 17, 2010 at 3:13PM • 1 hour 6 minutes

Dan Benjamin talks about mobile platforms and web browsers, the Palm Pre Plus, the Windows Phone 7 Series (really?), Google Buzz, and Macworld Expo, and more with special guests "Dan Moren":http://danmoren.net/, Senior Associate Editor at Macworld, "David Nanian":http://shirtpocket.com, creator of SuperDuper!, and "Christina Warren":http://christinawarren.com from Mashable.

Special guests Christina Warren, Dan Moren, and Dave Nanian.


#3: Hyper Local, Apple Pie, No Insurance

February 10, 2010 at 3:15PM • 1 hour 25 minutes

My guests are "Greg Storey":http://airbagindustries.com of "Happy Cog West":http://www.happycog.com/, "Garrett Dimon":http://garrettdimon.com of "Sifter":http://sifterapp.com, and "Jina Bolton":http://sushiandrobots.com of "Crush+Lovely":http://crushlovely.com. We talk about finding a job that supports creativity, and the challenges involved in launching, establishing, and maintaing a solo business.

We also talk about the future of web design, the growth of the mobile web, and the challenges these things bring to the world of design and development. We also talk a bit about mobile platforms like the iPad, iPhone, and Palm Pre.

Show links:

  • "New York Times Sees Rebound In Internet Advertising In Fourth Quarter":http://techcrunch.com/2010/02/10/new-york-times-rebound-internet-advertising-fourth-quarter/
  • "iPhone Isn't The New IE 6":http://rentzsch.tumblr.com/post/378102588/iphone-isnt-the-new-ie6

And don't forget, there's a special deal for listeners: through the month of February 2010, visit "Backblaze":http://www.backblaze.com/5by5 and use the coupon-code Feb5by5 to get 10% off your purchase.

Special guests Greg Storey & Garrett Dimon.


#2: Don't Twiddle the Knobs

February 5, 2010 at 11:59AM • 1 hour 24 minutes

Today my guests are Dave Nanian, Adam Keys, Christina Warren, Mike Davidson, and Merlin Mann.

We discuss Flash, HTML5, and the future of the web, Gowalla, Daringfireballwithcomments - was it legal? was it wrong? was it funny? the newsvine acquisition and NOT selling out or giving up the indy spirit, how to not dupe your readers, technology and kids, comments and giving up control, and how creating an identity on the internet can be both good and evil.

Special guests Christina Warren, Merlin Mann, Dave Nanian, and Mike Davidson.


#1: Heritage iPad

January 29, 2010 at 7:50PM • 1 hour 34 minutes

In the premier episode of The Conversation, Dan is joined by Craig Hockenberry, Christina Warren, Dan Moren, David Nanian, Ryan Schwartz, Ryan Irelan, to discuss the iPad, Heritage Dr. Pepper, and much more.

Special guests Christina Warren & Dan Moren.